Brian Viglione e Crossdressing

O músico norte-americano Brian Viglione é mais conhecido por seu trabalho como baterista da dupla de “punk cabaret” The Dresden Dolls. Viglione usa, freqüentemente, roupas e acessórios femininos, dentro e fora do palco.

Crossdressing é um trânsito entre universos masculinos e femininos no qual o indivíduo veste/incorpora elementos tradicionalmente associados a outro papel de gênero. É uma transgressão à expectativa desses papéis que não está necessariamente associada à libido ou à orientação sexual do sujeito.

Segue abaixo, em inglês, um ótimo texto de Viglione, publicado no site da Fundação Matthew Shepard, no qual ele fala sobre sua experiência como crossdresser, sobre liberdade, respeito e tolerância.

If you’re going to be able to give your all, you’ve to give it from a place of love and confidence within yourself. As a drummer in a rock band, I have had the great fortune to incorporate all the different parts of my personality into my job, no matter how seemingly contradictory or colorful they may be. One of the aspects of performing that I find most inspiring is how other people can often draw courage or inspiration to let themselves open up more in their everyday lives, to have the ability pursue the blossoming of the real person inside them, as opposed to feel they have to hide some part of who they are.

If people can feel more freedom to be themselves and let others do the same, to see that we have more in common with one another than we realize (or are often taught to accept), then this will hopefully increase the level of compassion and understanding in the world and lead to a more cooperative and giving civilization as a race. My hope is that the level of violent, fear-based actions we take against one another because of lack of tolerance and perspective, be it personal, social, or political, will be eventually replaced by a willingness to act from a place of knowing that by taking care of each other, we all benefit. That we realize that when one section of the populous is seen as separate from the whole or denied the rights, protection, and opportunity that others enjoy, we contribute not to some higher moral elevation, but to our own foolish disgrace. It’s not “us or them”, we’re all in the same boat. To disrespect one is to disrespect the whole.

I have always felt a strong support for the LGBT community, even as a child and seeing news broadcasts of acts of discrimination flash across the screen. As I grew up and began to explore my own sexuality and discovered that I loved to wear women’s clothing as a way to express my sexuality, and myself even though I was quite evidentially straight. My parents didn’t know what to think, other than The Rocky Horror Picture show had clearly warped my young mind. The teachers and kids at school just looked at with raised eyebrows and hoped I didn’t cause too much trouble. My later girlfriends usually found it a huge turn on and we’d always have fun trading clothes amongst other things. I loved incorporating it into my stage look and using it to help cut loose even further during performances and to feel that I could confidently, naturally, let that impulse out. Not everyone understands it, but I don’t care. It feels right to me and that’s what matters when it comes to personal expression. The story I always tell people is I was about ten years old, swimming at my grandmother’s house. My cousin and I were in front of a mirror and he had a buzz cut hairdo, I had a little kid mullet. All of a sudden, he bursts out laughing and pointing at me and the bit of wet hair that was kind of curled around my neck and says,”HA HA, you look like a girl! You look like a girl!” I did look like a girl. I had very soft features for a boy and with my hair a bit longer, it wasn’t a hard sell. But his teasing didn’t make me feel bad. I thought I looked kind of…cool. I was intrigued by my androgyny and felt almost empowered by it. So I grew up thinking that since I certainly wasn’t born to look like some gruff, muscled out, Dude-Guy, that I might as well work with what the good lord gave me, which happened to be a good, sassy, pout and a sweet ass. So, off I went.

Being under the scrutiny of so many peers, parents, teachers, employers, and other people who might try to make you feel like less of a person, as a teenager is total drag. But at a certain point, you have to say f*#@ it and live for yourself. Try not to diss anyone in the process and try to forgive those who are too scared and insecure to let you do your thing and just be cool about it. You don’t find out who you are over night, but you certainly don’t get anywhere by being too afraid to try. It’s our responsibility as the members of this generation to contribute an attitude of respect and a willingness to work together for the protection of our rights and the building of a more tolerant, compassionate, intelligent society. Don’t ever give up on yourself.

http://www.matthewshepard.org/site/PageServer?pagename=Voices_Brian_Viglione

Mais informações sobre crossdressing podem ser encontradas no site do Brazilian Crossdresser Clube e na Wikipédia. Mais fotos de Brian Viglione, aqui.

Esse post foi publicado em Visual Culture e marcado , , , . Guardar link permanente.

Uma resposta para Brian Viglione e Crossdressing

  1. Julie C. disse:

    Does anyone know of a good website to obtain information about home remedies for cold sores from herpes? Julie S.

Deixe uma resposta

